Faculty

Tenured and Tenure-Track Faculty

  • Amini, Shohreh
  • Professor, Associate Dean for Research and Graduate Programs
  • Office: Room 200, Biology-Life Sciences, Main Campus
  • Phone: (215) 204-0604
  • Email: ashohreh@temple.edu  |  Dr. Amini’s website
  • Research Interests: molecular biology, retrovirus-host cell interactions
  • Balciunas, Darius
  • Associate Professor
  • Office: Room 435, Biology-Life Sciences, Main Campus
  • Phone: (215) 204-1611
  • Email: darius@temple.edu  |  Dr. Balciunas’ website
  • Research Interests: zebrafish developmental genetics, genomic tools, regeneration
  • Behm, Jocelyn
  • Assistant Professor (July 1, 2017)
  • Office: Room 502 SERC, Main Campus
  • Phone: (215) 204-4244
  • Email: jebehm@temple.edu  |  Dr. Behm’s website
  • Research Interests: conservation biology, ecosystem services, biodiversity
  • Chang, Frank
  • Professor
  • Office: Rm 255, Biology-Life Sciences, Main Campus
  • Phone: (215) 204-8843
  • Email: fchang@temple.edu  |  Dr. Chang’s website
  • Research Interests: biochemistry, proteomics, cancer
  • Cordes, Erik
  • Associate Professor
  • Office: Rm 315 Biology-Life Sciences, Main Campus
  • Phone: 215-204-8876
  • Email: ecordes@temple.edu  |  Dr. Cordes’ website
  • Research Interests: ecology, genetics/genomics, deep-sea ecosystems
  • Escalante, Ananias
  • Professor
  • Office: 6th floor SERC, Main Campus
  • Phone: (480) 965-3739
  • Email: ananias.escalante@temple.edu  |  Dr. Escalante’s website
  • Research Interests: ecology and evolution of infectious diseases, malaria genetics
  • Feitelson, Mark
  • Professor
  • Office: Rm 409 Biology-Life Science, Main Campus
  • Phone: (215) 204-8434
  • Email: mark.feitelson@temple.edu  |  Dr. Feitelson’s website
  • Research Interests: pathogenesis, hepatitis B/C, hepatocellular carcinoma
  • Freestone, Amy
  • Associate Professor
  • Office: Rm 453B Biology-Life Science, Main Campus
  • Phone: (215) 204-1826
  • Email: amy.freestone@temple.edu  |  Dr. Freestone’s website
  • Research Interests: community ecology, macroecology, conservation biology
  • Giordano, Antonio
  • Professor, Director of Sbarro Health Research Organization
  • Office: Rm 431, Biology-Life Sciences, Main Campus
  • Phone: (215) 204-9520
  • Email: giordano@temple.edu  |  Dr. Giordano’s website
  • Research Interests: cancer, diabetes, cardiovascular disease
  • Gruberg, Edward
  • Professor
  • Office: Rm 321, Biology-Life Sciences, Main Campus
  • Phone: (215) 204-1920
  • Email: egruberg@temple.edu  |  Dr. Gruberg’s website
  • Research Interests: behavior and physiology of perception, neuroscience of vision
  • Habas, Raymond
  • Professor
  • Office: Rm 246, Lab: 204 Biology-Life Sciences, Main Campus
  • Phone: (215) 204-2298
  • Email: habas@temple.edu | Dr. Habas’ website
  • Research Interests: Wnt signaling pathway, embryogenesis, tumorigenesis
  • Hedges, S. Blair
  • Carnell Professor, Director of the Center for Biodiversity
  • Office: 502 SERC, Main Campus
  • Phone: (215) 204-7238
  • Email: sbh@temple.edu  |  Dr. Hedges’ website
  • Research Interests: evolutionary biology, biodiversity, and conservation
  • Helmus, Matthew
  • Assistant Professor
  • Office: 502 SERC, Main Campus
  • Phone: (215) 204-4244
  • Email: mrhelmus@temple.edu  |  Dr. Helmus’s website
  • Research Interests: quantitative ecology, global change biology, biodiversity science
  • Hey, Jody
  • Professor
  • Office: 336 Biology-Life Sciences, Main Campus
  • Phone: (215) 204-
  • Email: hey@temple.edu  |  Dr. Hey’s website
  • Research Interests: population genetics, human evolution
  • Hsieh, S. Tonia
  • Assistant Professor
  • Office: Rm 219A, Biology-Life Sciences Building, Main Campus
  • Phone: (215) 204-0617
  • Email: sthsieh@temple.edu  |  Dr. Hsieh’s website
  • Research Interests: biomechanics, evolutionary morphology
  • Klein, Michael
  • Laura H. Carnell Professor and Dean of the College of Science and Technology
  • Office: Rm 106, Biology-Life Sciences Building, Main Campus
  • Phone: (215) 204- 4212
  • Email: mlklein@temple.edu  |  Dr. Klein’s website
  • Research Interests: molecular dynamics theory, simulation, modeling
  • Kulathinal, Rob
  • Assistant Professor
  • Office: Rm 214, Biology-Life Sciences Building, Main Campus
  • Phone: (215) 204-0620
  • Email: robkulathinal@temple.edu  |  Dr. Kulathinal’s website
  • Research Interests: evolutionary genetics, genomics, speciation theory
  • Kumar, Sudhir
  • Laura H. Carnell Professor and Director of Institute for Genomics and Evolutionary Medicine
  • Office: Rm 710 SERC, Main Campus
  • Phone: (215) 204-1647
  • Email: s.kumar@temple.edu  |  Dr. Kumar’s website
  • Research Interests: molecular evolution, phylomedicine, phylogenomics, bioinformatics
  • Levy, Ron
  • Carnell Professor, Director of Center for Biophysics and Computational Biology
  • Office: Rm 718D SERC, Main Campus
  • Phone:
  • Email: ronlevy at temple.edu  |  Dr. Levy’s website
  • Research Interests: biophysics and computational biology
  • Liberles, David
  • Associate Professor
  • Office: Rm 113A, Biology-Life Sciences, Main Campus
  • Phone: (215) 204-2127
  • Email: daliberles@temple.edu  |  Dr. Liberles’ website
  • Research Interests: computational comparative genomics, molecular evolution
  • Nei, Masatoshi
  • Laura H. Carnell Professor
  • Office: 610J SERC, Main Campus
  • Phone:
  • Email:   |  Dr. Nei’s website
  • Research Interests: molecular and genomic evolution
  • Nicholson, Allen
  • Professor and Department Chair
  • Office: Rm 401/401A, Biology-Life Sciences, Main Campus
  • Phone: (215) 204-9048
  • Email: anichol@temple.edu  |  Dr. Nicholson’s website
  • Research Interests: ribonucleases, RNA processing, gene regulation
  • Palter, Karen
  • Associate Professor
  • Office: Rm 343, Biology-Life Sciences, Main Campus
  • Phone: (215) 204-5588
  • Email: palter@temple.edu  |  Dr. Palter’s website
  • Research Interests: Drosophila development, sialylation, glycosylation pathway
  • Patterson, Susan
  • Associate Professor
  • Office: Rm 350C, Biology-Life Sciences, Main Campus
  • Phone: (215) 204-9561
  • Email: susan.patterson@temple.edu  |  Dr. Patterson’s website
  • Research Interests: Aging, inflammation, and memory-related synaptic plasticity
  • Pond, Sergei Kosakovsky
  • Professor
  • Office: 644, SERC, Main Campus
  • Phone:
  • Email: tug23285@temple.edu  |  Dr. Pond’s website
  • Research Interests: computational biology, virus evolution, sequence analysis, software and algorithm development, molecular epidemiology
  • Sanders, Robert
  • Professor
  • Office: Rm 347, Biology-Life Sciences, Main Campus
  • Phone: (215) 204-2056
  • Email: sanders1@temple.edu | Dr. Sander’s website
  • Research Interests: ecology of marine/freshwater plankton, polar ecology, symbiosis
  • Schraiber, Joshua
  • Assistant Professor
  • Office: SERC, Main Campus
  • Phone:
  • Email: joshua.schraiber@temple.edu
  • Research Interests: computational biology, population genetics, phylogenetics, evolution
  • Sewall, Brent J.
  • Assistant Professor
  • Office: Rm 446a, Biology-Life Sciences, Main Campus
  • Phone: (215) 204-6115 | website
  • Email: bjsewall@temple.edu
  • Research Interests: conservation biology, community ecology, behavioral ecology
  • Sheffield, Joel
  • Professor
  • Office: Rm 311, Biology-Life Sciences, Main Campus
  • Phone: (215) 204-8839
  • Email: jbs@temple.edu  |  Dr. Sheffield’s website
  • Research Interests: retinal development, immunohistochemistry, imaging, microscopy
  • Spigler, Rachel
  • Assistant Professor
  • Office: Rm 443, Biology-Life Sciences, Main Campus
  • Phone: (215) 204-8855
  • Email: rachel.spigler@temple.edu   |  Dr. Spigler’s website
  • Research Interests: evolutionary ecology, plant reproduction, genetics
  • Tanaka, Jacqueline
  • Associate Professor
  • Office: Rm 324, Biology-Life Sciences, Main Campus
  • Phone: (215) 204-8868
  • Email: jtanaka@temple.edu  |  Dr. Tanaka’s website
  • Research Interests: structure-function of cyclic nucleotide-gated ion channels
  • Waring, Richard
  • Associate Professor
  • Office: Rm 307/309, Biology-Life Sciences, Main Campus
  • Phone: (215) 204-8877
  • Email: waring@temple.edu  |  Dr. Waring’s website
  • Research Interests: RNA processing, ribozymes, RNA-protein complexes
  • Yang, Weidong
  • Associate Professor
  • Office: Rm 202, Biology-Life Sciences, Main Campus
  • Phone: (215) 204-2312
  • Email: weidong.yang@temple.edu  |  Dr. Yang’s website
  • Research Interests: cell biology, biophysics, biochemistry, nanotechnology, imaging

Research Faculty

  • Anni, Eleni
  • Research Associate Professor in Biology
  • Office: Rm 4xx, Biology-Life Sciences, Main Campus
  • Phone: (215) 2xx-xxxx | website
  • Email: eleni.anni@temple.edu
  • Research Interests:
  • Arzumanyan, Alla
  • Research Assistant Professor in Biology
  • Office: Rm 419, Biology-Life Sciences, Main Campus
  • Phone: (215) 204-8359 | website
  • Email: alla.arzumanyan@temple.edu
  • Research Interests:
  • Macaluso, Marcella
  • Research Associate Professor of Biology
  • Office: Rm 429A, Biology-Life Sciences, Main Campus
  • Phone: (215) 204-9523 | website
  • Email: macaluso@temple.edu
  • Research Interests:
  • Miura, Sayaka
  • Research Assistant Professor of Biology
  • Office: Rm 333, Biology-Life Sciences, Main Campus
  • Phone: (215) 204-9523 | website
  • Email: tuf78332@temple.edu
  • Research Interests:molecular evolution, phylogenetics, genomics, phylomedicine
  • Scoles, Giacinto
  • Research Distinguished Professor of Biology
  • Office: Rm 449/449A, Biology-Life Sciences, Main Campus
  • Phone: (215) 204-0308 | website
  • Email: gscoles@temple.edu
  • Research Interests:
  • Surmacz, Eva
  • Research Professor of Biology
  • Office: Rm 446, Biology-Life Sciences, Main Campus
  • Phone: (215) 204-0302 | website
  • Email: surmacz@temple.edu
  • Research Interests:

Teaching/Instructional Faculty

  • Balsai, Michael Joseph
  • Assistant Professor of Instruction in Biology
  • Office: Rm 248M, Biology-Life Sciences, Main Campus
  • Phone: (215) 204-8524
  • Email: mjbalsai@temple.edu
  • Courses Taught:
  • Batish, Suman
  • Assistant Professor of Instruction in Biology
  • Office: Rm 248D, Biology-Life Sciences, Main Campus
  • Phone: (215) 204-1314
  • Email: batish@temple.edu
  • Courses Taught:
  • Bellipanni, Gianfranco
  • Assistant Professor of Instruction in Biology
  • Office: Rm 427B, Biology-Life Sciences, Main Campus
  • Phone: (215) 204-9578 | Fax: (215) 204-9522
  • Email: bellipa4@temple.edu
  • Courses Taught:
  • Bricker, Angela
  • Assistant Professor of Instruction in Biology
  • Office: Rm 248K, Biology-Life Sciences, Main Campus
  • Phone: (215) 204-8878
  • Email: angela.bricker@temple.edu
  • Courses Taught:
  • Christner, Paul
  • Associate Professor of Instruction in Biology
  • Office: Rm 248L, Biology-Life Sciences, Main Campus
  • Phone: (215) 204-3728
  • Email: paul.christner@temple.edu
  • Courses Taught:
  • Emtage, Jennifer
  • Assistant Professor of Instruction in Biology
  • Office: Rm 248A, Biology-Life Sciences, Main Campus
  • Phone: (215) 204-8870
  • Email: jemtage@temple.edu
  • Courses Taught:
  • Kaur, Gurpreet
  • Assistant Professor of Instruction in Biology
  • Office: Rm 248F, Biology-Life Sciences, Main Campus
  • Phone: (215) 204-3707
  • Email: kaur@temple.edu
  • Courses Taught:
  • Love, Sheryl L.
  • Assistant Professor of Instruction in Biology
  • Office: Rm 248N, Biology-Life Sciences, Main Campus
  • Phone: (215) 204-5996
  • Email: slove@temple.edu
  • Courses Taught:
  • McGowan, Michelle Hedwig
  • Assistant Professor of Instruction in Biology
  • Office: Rm 248E, Biology-Life Sciences, Main Campus
  • Phone: (215) 204-6141
  • Email: mcgowanm@temple.edu
  • Courses Taught:
  • Nicholson, Rhonda
  • Assistant Professor of Instruction in Biology
  • Office: Rm 402B, Biology-Life Sciences, Main Campus
  • Phone: (215) 204-9547
  • mail: rnichol@temple.edu
  • Courses Taught:
  • Saladik, Douglas T
  • Associate Professor of Instruction in Biology
  • Office: Rm 248H, Biology-Life Sciences, Main Campus
  • Phone: (215) 204-2053
  • Email: dsaladik@temple.edu
  • Courses Taught:
  • Sevignani, Cinzia
  • Assistant Professor of Instruction in Biology
  • Office: Rm 248J, Biology-Life Sciences, Main Campus
  • Phone: (215) 204-5445
  • Email: cinzia.sevignani@temple.edu | website
  • Courses Taught:
  • Smutzer, Gregory S
  • Associate Professor of Instruction in Biology
  • Office: Rm 453B/448,, Biology-Life Sciences, Main Campus
  • Phone: (215) 204-1236
  • Email: smutzerg@temple.edu
  • Courses Taught:
  • Spaeth, Daniel D.
  • Associate Professor of Instruction in Biology
  • Office: Rm 248Q, Biology-Life Sciences, Main Campus
  • Phone: (215) 204-6722
  • Email: spaceman@temple.edu
  • Courses Taught:
  • Stull, Deborah
  • Assistant Professor of Instruction in Biology
  • Office: Rm 248C, Biology-Life Sciences, Main Campus
  • Phone: (215) 204-6140
  • Email: debstull@temple.edu
  • Courses Taught:
  • Vleck, Evelyn
  • Assistant Professor of Instruction in Biology
  • Office: Rm 248P, Biology-Life Sciences, Main Campus
  • Phone: (215) 204-6528
  • Email: evleck@temple.edu
  • Courses Taught:

Retired & Emeriti Faculty

Hilfer, S. Robert, Professor Emeritus Office: Rm. 443B, Biology-Life Sciences, Main Campus Phone: (215) 204-8863 Hillman, Ralph, Professor Emeritus Office: Rm. 440, Biology-Life Sciences, Main Campus Phone: (215) 204-8857 Miller, Richard, Professor Emeritus Office: Rm. 159, Biology-Life Sciences, Main Campus Phone: (215) 204-8569 Mote, Michael I., Professor Emeritus Office: Rm. 443C, Biology-Life Sciences, Main Campus Phone: (215) 204-8855 Neff, Stuart., Professor Emeritus Office: Rm. 319, Biology-Life Sciences, Main Campus Phone: (215) 204-7238 Rappaport, Harry, Professor Emeritus Office: Rm. 450, Biology-Life Sciences, Main Campus Phone: (215) 204-8875 Roberts, Shepherd K., Professor Emeritus Office: Rm. 159, Biology-Life Sciences, Main Campus Phone: (215) 204-8864 Weisenberg, Richard C., Professor Emeritus Office: Rm. 159, Biology-Life Sciences, Main Campus Phone: (215) 204-8854